clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Six Cowboys Receive All-Big 12 Honors

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

After having only two All-Conference teamers last year, the Oklahoma State Cowboys have an impressive six All-Conference players following the conclusion of the 2015 regular season.

Wide receiver James Washington received second-team All-Big 12 honors. Washington had 10 touchdown catches and over 1,000 receiving yards this year. He also had five games in which he had at least 100 receiving yards. Even with just two seasons with the Cowboys, Washington has proven that he is one of the Big 12's most explosive young receivers.

On the defensive side, safety Jordan Sterns and defensive end Jimmy Bean also received second-team All-Big 12 honors. Bean, despite missing the final four games with a season-ending injury, had 21 total tackles and 5.5 sacks on the season. Sterns nabbed two interceptions in his 2015 campaign and led the team in tackles with 103 total, making it his second straight season with at least 100 tackles.

Cowboy back Blake Jarwin received first-team All-Big 12 honors, making him the first tight end to receive All-Big 12 honors since Brandon Pettigrew in 2007. Jarwin ended the regular season with 14 receptions for 190 yards and two touchdowns. Jarwin was also a 2015 first-team Academic All-Big 12 selection.

Defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah and cornerback Kevin Peterson also received first-team All-Big 12 honors. Ogbah, a junior, is currently fourth in the country in sacks with 13 and leads the conference in tackles for loss with 17.5. Peterson, the Cowboys' feature cornerback, was a 2015 captain, a four year letter winner and the Cowboys' Devensive MVP.

In addition to all of these selections, the Cowboys received a total of 11 All-Big 12 Honorable Mentions:

These Cowboys have had an exceptional year, leading the team to a 10-2 record in the regular season. Oklahoma State still has business to take care of, though, as they will take on the Ole Miss Rebels on January 1 at 8:00 PM in the All State Sugar Bowl.