clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State’s DeQuinton Osborne, Jarrell Owens, Vincent Taylor on 2016 Piesman Trophy

SB Nation’s Piesman Trophy honors the best play in which a lineman throws, catches or runs with the ball.

NCAA Football: Oklahoma State at Iowa State Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State’s DeQuinton Osborne, Jarrell Owens and Vincent Taylor are among the 54 players on the 2016 Piesman Trophy ballot.

SB Nation's Piesman Trophy was created last fall to honor the best play by an offensive or defensive lineman with the football in their hands. This play can come from any level of college football, from Football Bowl Subdivision to Division III.

Taylor appears on the ballot twice, including once with fellow big man Jarrell Owens.

OSU safety Jordan Sterns intercepted a deflected pass from Montell Cozart then he flips the ball to Taylor, who runs up the field. Taylor laterals the ball to Owens, who is finally brought down at the 15-yard line.

The second play for Taylor came against Texas. Taylor leaped over the Longhorns’ offensive line on a point-after attempt to block the kick. He then rumbled down field before pitching the ball to teammate Tre Flowers, who returned it for two points.

Osbourne makes the ballot for his interception against Kansas. Osbourne ran the ball from the 28-yard line down to the 1.

Last year, 63 Piesman-eligible plays with Southeastern Louisiana's Ashton Henderson receiving the first-ever Piesman Trophy. The Jenks High School product from Tulsa scooped up a fumble and rumbled his way in from 45 yards out for a score against Florida Tech last September.

A 24-person committee that includes writers from the Associated Press, ESPN, Sports Illustrated, USA Today and six members of the SB Nation team named Henderson the winner. The committee list has grown 47, including Henderson and the list could continue to grow.