clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 NCAA Wrestling Championships: Alex Dieringer wins his third NCAA title

Dieringer becomes just the 16th three-time national champion in Cowboy history.

Hunter Martin/Getty Images

Alex Dieringer left the mat at the 2016 NCAA Championships like he has the past two seasons -- with his hand raised.

The Oklahoma State senior wrestler won the 165-pound national title with a 6-2 decision over Isaac Jordan of Wisconsin at Madison Square Garden in New York City. Dieringer is the 16th three-time national champion in Cowboy history. It was only fitting that one of the greatest wrestlers in OSU history win the title against an opponent from his home state.

Dieringer scored a takedown in the first and racked up 1 minute, 25 seconds of riding time heading into the second period. He escaped to start the second and scored another takedown before securing the win with riding time.

Five straight wins at the national tournament bump Dieringer's win percentage to 97 percent for his career, finishing behind Yojiro Uetake, Dwayne Keller (98.5 percent) and Yoshiro Fujita (98 percent). He caps his Cowboy career with a 33-0 record and 82-match unbeaten streak, second all-time in OSU history.

The Port Washington, Wisconsin native posted a 133-4 overall record with a 19-1 record at the NCAA Tournament. His lone loss at the tournament was during his freshman season in overtime to Derek St. Johns of Iowa, who went on to win the tournament. He entered this year's tournament tied with Mike Farrell and Alan Fried at 128 career wins. John Smith holds the OSU record at 152 wins.