clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer on winning Hodge Trophy: 'I feel like Barry Sanders'

The three-time national champion compares the win to the 1988 Heisman winner.

Alonzo Adams-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer was named the 2016 Dan Hodge Trophy winner, collegiate wrestling's Heisman Trophy on Monday. Dieringer capped off his collegiate career with back-to-back undefeated seasons and his third consecutive individual championship.

Dieringer (165 pounds) earned 27 of the 45 first-place votes from a committee of previous Hodge winners, national wrestling media, retired college coaches from different regions of the country and a representative of each of the national wrestling organizations.

Dieringer is the second OSU wrestler, joining heavyweight Steve Mocco (2005) to win the award. OSU is now one of five programs to have multiple Hodge winners.

Sanders set college football season records with 2,628 rushing yards, 3,248 total yards, 234 points, 39 touchdowns, 37 rushing touchdowns in his junior season at OSU en route to winning the 1998 Heisman Trophy.

OSU now has three athletes in school history to be named the top athlete in their respective sport: Dieringer, Mocco and Sanders.