clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State Wrestling: No. 2 Cowboys Clinch 16th Big 12 Championship

Cowboys send nine of 10 wrestlers to finals.

Alonzo Adams-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 Wrestling Championships are a two-day event this year. Apparently, Oklahoma State didn't get the memo.

The No. 2 Cowboys set a new Big 12 record with 140.5 points to clinch its 16th Big 12 Championship on Saturday at Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri. The title is the seventh straight tournament crown for the program and its 50th overall. It also marks the 300th conference title for OSU athletics as a whole.

OSU sends nine of its 10 wrestlers to compete for individual titles Sunday. The Cowboys posted a 19-1 record on the first day, including 12 bonus-point victories, including five falls, six major decisions and one technical fall.

Eddie Kilmara (125), Dean Heil (141), Anthony Collica (149), Joe Smith (157), Alex Dieringer (165), Chandler Rogers (174), Nolan Boyd (184), Preston Weigel (197) and Austin Marsden (285) all will compete for individual crowns.

Dieringer will go for his fourth title while Kilmara, Collica and Marsden seek their third. Heil and Boyd go for a second title. It will be the first conference title bout for Smith, Rogers and Weigel.

Gary Wayne Harding is the lone Cowboy in the consolation bracket after dropping a 16-8 major decision to Earl Hall of Iowa State.

Streak on

Dieringer looks to become the seventh Cowboy to win four individual conference championships. The Port Washington, Wisconsin native started his impressive run in 2013 with an 11-3 major decision over Matt Lester of OU then an 8-3 decision over Justin DeAngelis of OU and an 14-4 win over Mike Moreno of ISU last year.

Dieringer now is third all-time in consecutive wins with 76. He went 33-0 last season and is currently 27-0, including 24 bonus-point wins.


Session three will have consolation semifinals along with third and fifth place matches and session four will feature championship bouts. Sessions three and four will start at 9 a.m. and 1 p.m. Sunday.

Semifinal Results

125: No. 2 Eddie Klimara (OSU) dec. No. 6 Chasen Tolbert (UVU), 6-2

133: No. 2 Earl Hall (ISU) MD No. 6 Gary Wayne Harding (OSU), 16-8

141: No. 1 Dean Heil (OSU) dec. No. 4 Mitch Bengston (NDSU), 4-1

149: No. 1 Anthony Collica (OSU) fall No. 4 Timmy Box (UNC), 6:10

157: No. 2 Joe Smith (OSU) MD No. 6 Eleazer DeLuca (UNC), 13-2

165: No. 1 Alex Dieringer (OSU) TF No. 4 Connor Flynn (WVU), 17-1, 4:05

174: No. 1 Chandler Rogers (OSU) dec. No. 4 David Kocer (SDSU), 10-8

184: No. 2 Nolan Boyd (OSU) MD No. 3 Jacob Scheffel (WVU), 10-1

197: No. 5 Preston Weigel (OSU) dec. No. 9 Pat Downey (ISU), 6-2

285: No. 1 Austin Marsden (OSU) dec. No. 5 Dustin Dennison (UVU), 6-2

Finals Schedule

125: No. 2 Eddie Klimara (OSU) vs. No. 1 Ryan Millhof (OU)

141: No. 1 Dean Heil (OSU) vs. No. 3 Seth Gross (SDSU)

149: No. 1 Anthony Collica (OSU) vs. No. 3 Davion Jeffries (OU)

157: No. 2 Joe Smith (OSU) vs. No. 1 Cody Pack (SDSU)

165: No. 1 Alex Dieringer (OSU) vs. No. 2 Tanner Weatherman (ISU)

174: No. 1 Chandler Rogers (OSU) vs. No. 3 Lelund Weatherspoon (ISU)

184: No. 2 Nolan Boyd (OSU) vs. No. 1 Hayden Zillmer (NDSU)

197: No. 5 Preston Weigel (OSU) vs. No. 2 Nate Rotert (SDSU)

285: No. 1 Austin Marsden (OSU) vs. No. 3 Tanner Harms (WYO)

Consolation Semifinals Schedule

133: No. 6 Gary Wayne Harding (OSU) vs. No. 8 Keegan Moore (WVU)

Team Standings

1. Oklahoma State - 140.5

2. Iowa State – 72

3. Oklahoma - 70.5

4. South Dakota State - 68.5

5. Wyoming – 51

6. West Virginia – 49

7. North Dakota State - 45.5

8. Utah Valley - 33.5

9. Air Force - 24.5

9. Northern Colorado - 24.5

How to watch

When: Sunday

Where: Sprint Center, Kansas City, Missouri

Live Stats:

Live Stream: ($), first three sessions

TV: FOX Sports Regional Networks, final rounds Sunday at 1 p.m. CT

Listen: 93.7 KSPI-FM or with Rex Holt and Roger Moore on the call.