clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State Wrestling: Alex Dieringer wins 4th Big 12 Championship

Dieringer becomes the seventh Cowboy to win four individual Big 12 titles.

Alonzo Adams-USA TODAY Sports

Alex Dieringer continues to rewrite the Oklahoma State wrestling record books.

Dieringer defeated Tanner Weatherman of Iowa State, 4-2, to become the seventh Cowboy to win four individual Big 12 conference titles Sunday at the Big 12 Championships at the Sprint Center in Kansas City. The only other Cowboys to have accomplished the feat are Steve Barrett (1974-77), LeeRoy Smith (1977-80), Pat Smith (1990-92, 94), Johnny Thompson (2001-04), Jordan Oliver (2010-13), and Chris Perry (2011-14).

The Port Washington, Wisconsin native started his impressive title run in 2013 with an 11-3 major decision over Matt Lester of Oklahoma. In 2014, he posted an 8-3 decision over Justin DeAngelis of OU and an 14-4 win over Mike Moreno of ISU last year.

The win also improves Dieringer's win streak to 77 matches, dating back to last season. Dieringer is 28-0 this season with 24 bonus-point victories. He surpassed Mike Sheet's with his first win this weekend to become the third-all time in consecutive wins.