clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer, John Smith sweep Big 12 wrestling honors

Dieringer is the conference's 2016 Wrestler of the Year, while Smith is the Coach of the Year.

Hunter Martin/Getty Images

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer and John Smith swept the Big 12 wrestling annual honors, as voted on by conference coaches. Dieringer was named the 2016 Big 12 Wrestler of the Year, while Smith took the Big 12 Wrestling Coach of the Year honor, the conference announced Tuesday.

Dieringer won his third consecutive NCAA national championship and second straight at 165 pounds to cap his collegiate wrestling career on an 82-match win streak, dating back to January 2014. He went 33-0 his senior season with 27 bonus-point victories, including 12 falls - 10 in the first period - eight major decisions and seven technical falls. He only allowed one takedown all season.

For his efforts, he won the 2016 Dan Hodge Trophy, given annually to the most outstanding collegiate wrestler. He joins heavyweight Steve Mocco (2005) as the only Cowboys to win the award. Dieringer went 133-4 overall during his career and only loss to Derek St. Johns of Iowa, an eventual national champion, at the national tournament. He's the 16th three-time NCAA national champion, 14th four-time All-American and seventh four-time conference champion in program history.

Smith led the Cowboys to its 50th conference title and a runner-up finish at the NCAA Championship. The Cowboys went 12-2 overall with a 6-0 record in conference action this season. He coached seven Cowboys to Big 12 individual titles and six to All-American honors with two NCAA national champions in Dieringer and Dean Heil.