clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer receives 2016 Hodge Trophy

The three-time national champion gets college wrestling's Heisman Trophy.

Dan Hodge, left, presents the trophy named after him to Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer.
Dan Hodge, left, presents the trophy named after him to Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer.

Oklahoma State senior Alex Dieringer received the 2016 Dan Hodge Trophy, given annually to the most dominant collegiate wrestler, Thursday night at the Cowboy's end of the season banquet.

The award is named after Dan Hodge, a former three-time (1955-57) NCAA champion from the University of Oklahoma, who did not allow a takedown in his career and pinned 36 of his 46 opponents. Criteria for the award includes a wrestler's record, number of pins, dominance on the mat, past credentials, quality of competition, sportsmanship/citizenship and heart.

Dieringer capped off his collegiate career with back-to-back undefeated seasons and his third consecutive individual championship.

The 165-pounder earned 27 of the 45 first-place votes from a committee of previous Hodge winners, national wrestling media, retired college coaches from different regions of the country and a representative of each of the national wrestling organizations.

The Port Washington, Wisc. native is the second OSU wrestler, joining Steve Mocco (2005) to win the award. OSU is now one of five programs to have multiple Hodge winners.

Dieringer posted a 133-4 overall record with a 19-1 record at the NCAA Tournament during his career. His lone loss at the tournament was in overtime to eventual champion Derek St. John of Iowa in Dieringer's freshman season. Dieringer went on to place third. The Cowboy registered his second-consecutive undefeated season and 82-straight wins, the third-longest streak in program history.