clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CRFF All-Time Cowboy Tournament: Preview

TCU v Oklahoma State Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

Hey readers! We have something special for you coming up. During the month of August, we will be running the “CRFF All-Time Cowboy Tournament.” On every day of this tournament, you, the fans, will be voting between a pair of athletes. These athletes have all spent their college days in Stillwater, America, and are counting on your vote to send them through to the next round!

What is an “All-Time Cowboy,” exactly? Whatever you think it is. This is not a “who’s better?” contest, this is a tournament for the fans. Who did you idolize growing up as a Pokes fan? Who is constantly representing our beloved University, even past their college days? Who would you most want to sit down next to at the Penny, and drink a limey with? These are the types of questions you should be asking yourself while voting. This is for you guys!

Now, as you all know, we have had some incredible athletes come through OSU, and due to timing reasons, we have had to limit the entries to 30. This allows for a whole month of heated comments, twitter replies, and passionate voting. Whittling our amazing athletes down into 30 was more difficult than sitting through an entire basketball season with Travis Ford at the helm. But, we did it, and here is how:

Five CRFF writers and our good friend Josh Elias sat down yesterday to determine the seeding of the athletes. We decided that instead of going through the mess of making six different brackets and comparing, we would hold a fantasy draft. This would be a quick way to get the seeds picked, and the heavy burden of ranking certain players over others doesn’t fall on one person’s shoulders.

CRFF Fantasy Draft

  1. Barry Sanders - Football
  2. Bob Kurland - Basketball
  3. Mike Gundy - Football
  4. Ed Gallagher - Wrestling
  5. Jim Click - Football
  6. Pete Incaviglia - Baseball
  7. Thurman Thomas - Football
  8. Rickie Fowler - Golf
  9. Brandon Weeden - Football
  10. Eddie Sutton - Basketball
  11. John Smith - Wrestling
  12. Josh Holliday - Football
  13. Rashaun Woods - Football
  14. Bryant Reeves - Basketball
  15. Mike Holder - Golf
  16. T. Boone Pickens
  17. Daniel Cormier - Wrestling
  18. Michele Smith - Softball
  19. Bob Fenimore - Football
  20. Robin Ventura - Baseball
  21. Keiton Page - Basketball
  22. Doug Gottlieb - Basketball
  23. Zac Robinson - Football
  24. Alex Dieringer - Wrestling
  25. Dez Bryant - Football
  26. Desmond Mason - Basketball
  27. Tony Allen - Basketball
  28. Dan Bailey - Football
  29. Josh Fields - Football
  30. Russell Okung - Football

The Bracket

You can view the full bracket at

That bracket will be updated daily with vote counts, winners, losers, etc.


All voting will be done through Twitter polls. Don’t worry, if you don’t have a twitter, you are still allowed to vote through the tweet. You can find the tweet a few ways. First, on our account, @CowboysRFF, and all of the staff will be retweeting/sharing the poll via social media. Second, we will post an article every morning reviewing that days match up; in that post, the tweet will be embedded for easy voting.

Voting will be open from 8:00am CST to 12:00am CST. The previous days winner will be announced via the site & social media pages.

Who’s Excited?!

In closing, this should be a great tournament, and we look forward to a ton of fan engagement. Note, the more people who vote, the more fun this will be. So please share the articles/tweets!

Our first match up of the tournament is T. Boone Pickens v. Daniel Cormier (T. Boone wins in a real fight, right?). Be on the lookout first thing Monday morning for the voting to open up.

Go Pokes!!!