clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mason Rudolph named to the 2016 Manning Award watch list

Could Rudolph finish as this year’s top QB?

Oklahoma State's Mason Rudolph (left) passes under pressure from Kansas State's Tanner Wood during a football game in Stillwater, Okla., on Saturday, October 3, 2015.

As reported earlier by Kyle Fredrickson of The Oklahoman, the 2016-2017 Manning Award watch list was released today, Monday, August 15th. The list includes 30 quarterbacks who are considered to be the best in the nation heading into the 2016 season. Oklahoma State’s very own Mason Rudolph has made the list.

The winner of the award is selected by a voting panel, which includes media members along with Archie, Eli and Peyton Manning. The 10 finalists for the award are announced on November 30th, and the winner is announced on January 11th.

The Big 12 leads the way this year with five selections (Nice!), followed by the Big Ten and ACC with four each.

Here are the last six winners:

Past six winners of the Manning Award

The award was created in 2004 and takes into account the entire season, including bowl games.

This is great news for Rudolph as every Manning award winner has been drafted (except for Deshaun Watson, who is still in school). In addition, three past winners were selected No. 1 overall (Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Jameis Winston), while four others went No. 2 or No. 3 (Robert Griffin III, Marcus Mariota, Matt Ryan and Vince Young).

And speaking of the draft, some early 2018 draft rankings have Rudolph ranked as a top 10 QB. Exciting news for the Cowboy quarterback.

Like I mentioned above, this is great news for Rudolph, but as a Cowboy fan it makes you wonder... Could this be his last year in Stillwater?

See the full list of finalists here.