clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State's Zachary Crabtree named to 2016 Piesman Trophy watch list

SB Nation's Piesman Trophy honors the best play in which a lineman throws, catches or runs with the ball.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State's Zachary Crabtree is one of 44 players named to the 2016 Piesman Trophy watch list on Monday.

SB Nation's Piesman Trophy was created last fall to honor the best play by an offensive or defensive lineman with the football in their hands. This play can come from any level of college football, from Football Bowl Subdivision to Division III.

The 6-foot-7, 310-pound redshirt junior started every game at right tackle in 2015. He played in nine games and started in eight in 2014 during his freshman season.

Three other Big 12 players were also named to the list: Sam Grant of Oklahoma, Josh Carraway of TCU and Breiden Fehoko of Texas Tech.

Last year, 63 Piesman-eligible plays with Southeastern Louisiana's Ashton Henderson receiving the first-ever Piesman Trophy. The Jenks High School product from Tulsa scooped up a fumble and rumbled his way in from 45 yards out for a score against Florida Tech last September.

A 24-person committee that includes writers from the Associated Press, ESPN, Sports Illustrated, USA Today and six members of the SB Nation team named Henderson the winner. The committee list has grown 47, including Henderson and the list could continue to grow.