clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

CRFF All-Time Cowboy Tournament: Mike Holder vs. Michele Smith


Round 1 of the CRFF All-Time Cowboy Tournament has officially started! In yesterday’s matchup, #12 seed, Josh Holliday, put a wallop on #21 seed, Keiton Page. If you don’t already know about this tournament we are holding, check out the Tournament introductory blog! We have seeded 30 of the best to ever wear the orange and black.


What is an “All-Time Cowboy,” exactly? Whatever you think it is. This is not a “who’s better?” contest, this is a tournament for the fans. Who did you idolize growing up as a Pokes fan? Who is constantly representing our beloved University, even past their college days? Who would you most want to sit down next to at the Penny, and drink a limey with? These are the types of questions you should be asking yourself while voting. This is for you guys!

You can check out the full bracket here!

Round 1 / Match 8: #15 Mike Holder vs. #18 Michele Smith

Tulsa World

Mike Holder has been the Oklahoma State Athletic Director since 2005, and he has been doing an outstanding job. A huge draw to OSU athletics is our top-of-the-line facilities, and Holder was a huge reason that these facilities were constructed. Also, Karsten Creek was one of Holder’s babies, and if you haven’t played 18 there, you are missing out. She’s a true beauty.

Prior to being our AD, he was busy building a powerhouse golfing program at OSU for 32 years.

Holder took over his OSU coaching post on July 1, 1973, and during his tenure, his teams set student-athlete standards that were unequaled. While he coached 112 All-America selections, including 38 first-team choices, and has numerous former players competing on the PGA Tour, overseas and on mini-tours, Holder saw to it that his players also excelled in the classroom. During his tenure, OSU produced three Ben Hogan Award winners, which was based on academic and athletic excellence nationwide.

Holder is one of five coaches in NCAA history, regardless of sport, to win a national championship in four different decades. Three times Holder coached the Cowboys to the national team title the same year an OSU individual also claimed medalist honors (1978, 1987 and 2000). Along the way, he claimed 25 conference championships. His 21 Big Eight championships were the second most by a head coach in any sport, trailing only Kansas basketball coach Phog Allen.

Women's Softball Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images

Michele Smith may be one of the most overshadowed stars in OSU history. Sometimes it’s tough to get much attention if you aren’t in one of the big 3 sports, but Smith’s brilliance on the diamond has not gotten past us at CRFF.

Smith was a winner.

  • She holds the OSU softball record for total career wins at 82.
  • Three time champion Women’s Major ASA Fastpitch
  • 8-time MVP of the Japan Pro Softball League
  • Two gold medals in Pan American Games
  • Three gold medals at the World Championships
  • Two time olympic gold medalist
  • ESPN Analyst

That’s a pretty good resume.


So, who are you going to vote for? Will you go with the Commander in Chief/AD, or the softball superstar? Vote below and share the tweet with your friends!