clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mason Rudolph Wins Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

The senior QB was named the best in the nation today.

NCAA Football: Baylor at Oklahoma State Rob Ferguson-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State senior quarterback Mason Rudolph has won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award, the award website announced in a news release today.

Candidates for the Golden Arm Award – which has been presented at the end of each college football season since 1987 – must be college seniors or fourth-year juniors on schedule to graduate with their class. In addition to the accomplishments on the field, candidates are judged on their character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, and leadership qualities.

Rudolph said winning the award was a meaningful honor in a statement.

"Winning the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award is a meaningful honor for me because this is a reflection of how I was raised. I was taught from a young age that there is more to life than football and I'm thankful to the committee for selecting me. I am humbled and thankful to everyone who helped me get to this point."

From the Oklahoma State news release:

Rudolph finished the regular season as the leading passer in the FBS, both in terms of passing yards (4,553) and passing yards per game (379.4) and he also leads the FBS in points responsible for (270) and points responsible for per game (22.5). He ranks second in the FBS in both total offense (4,582) and total offense per game (381.8). Both of those figures are the best among the three finalists for the Davey O'Brien Award.

Rudolph is among the top five quarterbacks nationally in virtually every major statistical category and he headlines the nation's top-ranked passing offense and the highest-scoring offense from any of the Power Five conferences. The winningest quarterback in Oklahoma State history, Rudolph owns no fewer than 50 school records, with several more within reach at the bowl game.

Rudolph will receive his trophy Dec. 8 at a ceremony in Baltimore, MD.