clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jawun Evans One of Thirty Players Up For Naismith Trophy

The Cowboy point guard made the cut

NCAA Basketball: Oklahoma State at Baylor Ray Carlin-USA TODAY Sports

Ask any Oklahoma State basketball fan how they feel about Sophomore Point Guard Jawun Evans, and they’re likely to call him one of the best players in the country. It seems the Naismith Trophy agrees.

The annual player of the year award released it’s Top 30 list for 2017 this morning, and OSU’s Evans made the list.

Joining Evans on the list are fellow Big 12 players Josh Jackson and Frank Mason III of Kansas, Monte Morris of Iowa State, and Jonathan Motley of Baylor.

In his second year at Oklahoma State, Evans is averaging 18.2 points, 3 rebounds, 5.4 assists, and 2 steals a game, while shooting 43% from the field, 40% from three, and 80% from the free-throw line.

The Cowboys are currently 15-9, and while Coach Brad Underwood deserves most of the credit for the season’s turnaround after a 6-game losing streak, we can all agree that when Evans plays his best this team wins.

Since it was first awarded in 1969, the Naismith Award has been considered the most prestigious award in college basketball. Previous winners include Blake Griffin, Kevin Durant, and Tim Duncan. Last year the Naismith went to OU’s Buddy Hield.

The list will be cut again to 10 semifinalists on March 1st, then again to the four finalists on March 19th. The winner will be announced on April 2nd.

To view the full Top 30 list visit HERE.