clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dean Heil wins Big 12 wrestler of the year

More honors for the prestigious program.

NCAA Wrestling: Division I Wrestling Championship Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

The Big 12 Announced it’s end of year wrestling honors today. Among them, Dean Heil was named Big 12 wrestler of the year.

The 141-lb Junior finished with a perfect 32-0 season and his second NCAA title. This award is no stranger to the Cowboys, as Alex Deiringer winning the honor last year.

The Cowboys wrapped up their season Sunday with a third place finish in the NCAA Championships, and had a record-tying eight All-Americans.

Other Cowboys that have had perfect seasons with more than 29 include current Head Coach John Smith, Pat Smith, and Eric Guerrero.

There's is no doubt Heil will go down in Cowboy wrestling history, as he looks to continue his 41-match streak next season.

South Dakota State Head Coach Chris Bono won coach of the year, after leading the Jackrabbits to a 3rd place finish at the Big 12 Championship and 16th at Nationals.

Congratulations on a fantastic season Dean Heil and the rest of the Cowboys.