clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Oklahoma State Basketball Players Get All-Big 12 Honors

Evans, Carroll, and Forte are all honored

NCAA Basketball: Kansas at Oklahoma State Rob Ferguson-USA TODAY Sports

With the regular season over, The Big 12 announced it’s All-Conference teams and awards today, and Oklahoma State had three players honored.

Point guard Jawun Evans was named to the first team, while guard Jeffrey Carroll was named second team, and Phil Forte III earned honorable mention.

Oklahoma State was one of only three teams with three players honored joining Kansas, Baylor, and Iowa State.

Evans joined Big 12 Player of the Year Frank Mason III (KU), Big 12 Freshman of the Year Josh Jackson (KU), Johnathan Motley (BU), and Monte Morris (ISU) on the First Team.

Other award winners included Jevon Carter (WVU) winning Defensive Player of the Year, Manu Lecomte (BU) winning Newcomer of the Year, Tarik Phillip (WVU) winning Sixth Man of the Year, and Kansas Head Coach Bill Self winning his fifth Big 12 Coach of the Year.

You could argue that Brad Underwood, who took a team projected to finish 7th in the league and started conference play with an 0-6 record, to a 9-9 finish and 5th place, was more deserving of the Coach of the Year honor. I think if the team had won one of their last two games, he would have gotten it.

My biggest complaint is Phil Forte landing in the Honorable Mention category, instead of on at least the third-team. Here are the six (!) players who made third team.

Don’t get me wrong, those are some talented players and maybe I’m wearing my orange shaded glasses, but I just don’t see how Forte doesn’t land on the list.

Let me hear your thoughts on the Big 12 awards in the comments section below!