clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State Wrestling Lands Top Seed at 141, two-seed at 149 at NCAA Championship

Let’s look at how each OSU wrestler matches up against the top seeds.

NCAA Wrestling: Division I-Championship Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

The NCAA Wrestling Championship seeding will be announced tonight. First though, the NCAA decided to release the top two seeds for each weight class a little early. Oklahoma State nabbed two, with Dean Heil grabbing the top seed at 141-lbs and Anthony Collica grabbing the two seed at 149.

Oklahoma State is sending 10 wrestlers to the tournament. Here is the look at the top two seeds in each weight class:

No. 1 Thomas Gilman, Iowa (27-0)
No. 2 Joey Dance, Virginia Tech (25-1)

Nicholas Piccininni (22-6) will represent OSU at 125. He lost to Gilman 12-4 back on January 15. He didn’t face Dance this season.

No. 1 Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State (19-0)
No. 2 Seth Gross, South Dakota State (30-1)

Kaid Brock (25-2) will wrestle at 133 for the Cowboys. Brock did not face Tomasello, and lost to Gross in both meetings this season. Those were the redshirt freshman’s only two defeats on the year.

No. 1 Dean Heil, OSU (27-0)
No. 2 Kevin Jack, NC State (29-1)

Heil, the defending NCAA Champ, did not face Jack this year, but did beat him last season in Stillwater 10-8.

No. 1 Zain Retherford, Penn State (23-0)
No. 2 Anthony Collica, OSU (20-2)

Collica faced Retherford, the defending NCAA Champ, earlier this season with Retherford winning 2-1.

No. 1 Jason Nolf, Penn State (22-0)
No. 2 Michael Kemerer, Iowa (27-2)

Joseph Smith (11-4), who will be representing OSU at 157, faced both Nolf and Kemerer earlier this season, losing to both. Smith also lost to Nolf last season in the NCAA Championship.

No. 1 Isaiah Martinez, Illinois (27-0)
No. 2 Logan Massa, Michigan (27-2)

This will be the first time OSU wrestler Chandler Rogers (20-6) will face either Martinez or Massa this season.

No. 1 Zahid Valencia, Arizona State (33-0)
No. 2 Biran Realbuto, Cornell (23-1)

Kyle Krutchmer (18-5), lost to Realbuto 3-2 earlier this season. He did not face Valencia.

No. 1 Gabe Dean, Cornell (30-0)
No. 2 Bo Nickal, Penn State (21-2)

OSU will send Nolan Boyd (21-4) the NCAA’s. He lost to both Nickal and Dean when he faced them earlier this season.

No. 1 J’Den Cox, Missouri (23-0)
No. 2 Brett Pfarr, Minnesota (27-2)

Cowboy Preston Weigel (18-5) lost to both Cox and Pfarr in matches earlier this season.

No. 1 Kyle Snyder, Ohio State (12-0)
No. 2 Connor Medbury, Wisconsin (25-1)

Austin Schafer (22-1) did not face either Snyder or Medbury this season.

The NCAA announced the 53 at-large selections on Tuesday. Oklahoma State qualified 10 wrestlers for the championships this year, the eight wrestlers who won titles at the Big 12 Championships last weekend, along with second place finishers Chandler Rogers (165) and Kaid Brock (133).

The NCAA will announce the full seeding for the 2017 Wrestling Championships beginning tonight at 5 p.m. CST. You can watch them live online on Facebook Live: NCAA Wrestling and on