clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State Cowboys Get Seven Named to All-Tournament Team, McCain Named MVP

The Big 12 champs were well represented

Following Oklahoma State’s 6-5 win over 6-seeded Texas to capture the Big 12 title and secure their NCAA Tournament berth, the Big 12 announced the All-Tournament Team and Most Outstanding Player.

Oklahoma State was well represented with seven all-team members, including the Championship’s MOP Garrett McCain.

Catcher Colin Simpson, 2nd Baseman Ryan Cash, Outfielders Garrett McCain and Ryan Sluder, Designated Hitter Bryce Fisher, and Pitchers Blake Battenfield and Carson Teel received the honors with McCain taking home the “Most Outstanding Player” award.

McCain dealt major damage at bat and was crucial on defense. Over the tournament, he held a .375 batting average, scoring once and driving in eight more runs.

Simpson made a massive impact as well but left his mark the most in the first game against WVU, blasting two home runs.

Cash and Sluder combined for four scores and four RBIs during the tournament.

Fisher only saw time in the championship against Texas but had a huge impact, going 3-for-5 at bat, including a home run that ended up being the difference for the game.

Battenfield and Teel pitched for a combined 15.2 innings and only gave up two earned runs on 11 hits, all the while dishing out 14 strikeouts.

West Virginis had the second most players on the team with four, followed by Texas and TCU with two each.

The Cowboys will find out their NCAA Tournament regional destination Monday at 11 a.m.