clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State Alumni to Compete for $2 Million in The Basketball Tournament

The Basketball Tournament will have some familiar faces in it.

Brooklyn Nets v New York Knicks Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

The Basketball Tournament is a $2 million grand prize winner-take-all single elimination tournament that will start with 64 teams with 16 teams coming from each region. Then it moves to the Super 16, the semi-finals and the championship. Anyone 18 years or older is eligible to enter a team. Sixty teams were announced on June 6 and there are three Oklahoma State alumni that will play in the tournament on different teams.

Markel Brown: Brown will play for the Stickmen, a team in the West Region. Brown played for the Brooklyn Nets for two seasons before starting to play for Khimki of the VTB United League in Russia. Brown went to two NCAA tournaments with Oklahoma State his junior and senior season and was an All-Big 12 perfomer.

Marshall Moses: Moses will play on Matatdors, a team of players associated with Texas Tech in the south region. Moses was on the Cowboys from 2007-2011 and was an All- Big 12 performer his senior season. He currently plays in Europe.

Phillip Jurick: Jurick transferred to OSU his junior season from Chattanooga State. He will play for the Chattanooga Trenches in the south region. He had a bit a a rocky time at OSU after tearing his Achilles and missing part of his junior season. He was in the team that made it to the NCAA tournament in 2013. After his career at Oklahoma State, Jurick went on to play basketball in Europe.

Four more teams will play into the tournament during the Jamboree June 17-18 in Philadelphia. The fourth edition of The Basketball Tournament will begin July 8 in the Philadelphia and Charlotte regionals, and the Las Vegas and Bradley University (Preoria, Illinois) regionals will be played July 15-16. You can find the regional rounds on WatchESPN.

The Super 16 will be at LIU in Brooklyn from July 20-23 and broadcast on ESPN and ESPN2.

The semi-finals and championship will be in Baltimore, Maryland August 1-3 and will be on ESPN.

This is a great chance to go down memory lane as former college stars will get together to try and win the $2 million prize.