clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cowboy Football Award Watch Lists

A look at the award comittees that have Cowboys on their radar.

NCAA Football: Oklahoma State at Baylor Ray Carlin-USA TODAY Sports

With the season about six weeks away, college football awards are starting to release their watch lists. Let’s take at look at the members of Cowboy Football that awards have their eye on.

Doak Walker Award- RB Justice Hill:

The Doak Walker Award recognizes the nation’s top running back. After a season where he rushed for over 1,000 yards last year, it would be a crime if Hill wasn’t on this list. Hill is joined on the watch list by fellow Big 12 running backs Alex Barnes (Kansas State), David Montgomery (Iowa State) and Kyle Hicks (TCU).

Biletnikoff Award- James Washington and Jalen McClesky:

The Biletnikoff Award goes to the nation’s top reciver. And with a wide reciver core as deep as OSU’s, it’s no surprise that the Cowboys have two players on the list. This is the second year in a row that James Washington has been on the award’s radar. Washington and McClesky are joined by Big 12 players Keke Coutee (Texas Tech), Steven Sims Jr. (Kansas) and Allen Lazard (Iowa State).

Dodd Trophy- Head Coach Mike Gundy:

The Dodd Trophy Honors a coach whose program exemplifies three pillars of sucess, scholarship, leadership and integrity. Gundy has created a culture that makes sure players have these qualities. Gundy is joined on the list by fellow Big 12 coach Bill Snyder (Kansas State).

Maxwell Award-Mason Rudolph and James Washington

The Maxwell Award is presented to College Football Player of the year. #Rudolph2Washington is set to be the best QB/WR duo in the country next year so it's great to see their names on the list. They’re joined by a couple Big 12 players including West Virgina’s Will Grier and Texas’ Shane Buchele.

Zach Sinor- Ray Guy Award:

The Ray Guy Award is given to nation’s best punter. Sinor has definitely earned a spot on this list, getting the Cowboys some great field position over the years. He’s joined on the list by finalist last year and fellow Big 12 punter Michael Dickson of Texas.

Jim Thorpe Award- Tre Flowers:

This award goes to the nation’s best defensive back. Flowers should be a key part of OSU’s defense going into his senior year. He is joined on the list by fellow Big 12 backs Dravon Askew-Henry (West Virginia), Kamari Cotton-Moya (Iowa State) and Nick Orr (TCU).

Remington Trophy- Brad Lunblade:

This trophy is given to the best center in college football. The senior joined the team as a walk on but has made his mark on Cowboy football. He is joined on the list by TCU’s Austin Schlottmann.