clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State wrestling: 8 Cowboys earn seeds for NCAA championships

Kaid Brock is OSU’s highest seed at No. 4 at 133 pounds, while two-time NCAA champion Dean Heil draws the No. 6 seed.

NCAA Wrestling: Division I Wrestling Championship Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Eight Oklahoma State wrestlers earned tournament seeds from the NCAA selection committee Wednesday, when the brackets were released.

Three of the eight Cowboys are seeded sixth or better, including returning All-American Kaid Brock, who earned OSU’s highest seed at No. 4 at 133 pounds.

Two-time NCAA defending champion Dean Heil is the No. 6 seed at 141, and redshirt sophomore Nick Piccininni — a two-time Big 12 champion and 2017 All-American — is the No. 6 seed at 125.

Redshirt sophomore Boo Lewallen and redshirt junior Chandler Rogers are No. 8 at 149 and 165, respectively. Fellow redshirt juniors Preston Weigel (197) and Derek White (285) are No. 9 seeds.

Redshirt freshman 184-pounder Keegan Moore is the only unseeded OSU wrestler in the tournament.

The NCAA tournament is schedule for Thursday, March 15 through Saturday, March 17, at Quicken Loans Arena in Cleveland, Ohio. The opening round, quarterfinals, and Saturday’s medal round is on ESPNU. The second round and semifinals air live on ESPN. The finals are on ESPN2.


Oklahoma State’s first round NCAA matchups

125: No. 6 Nick Piccininni vs. Travis Piotrowski (ILL)

133: No. 4 Kaid Brock vs. Dylan Duncan (ILL)

141: No. 6 Dean Heil vs. Evan Cheek (CSU Bakersfield)

149: No. 8 Boo Lewallen vs. Davion Jeffries (OU)

165: No. 8 Chandler Rogers vs. Jonathan Viruet (Brown)

174: No. 13 Jacobe Smith vs. Joseph Gunther (Iowa)

184: Keegan Moore vs. No. 4 Pete Renda (NC State)

197: No. 9 Preston Weigel vs. Kyle Conel (Kent State)/Randall Diabe (APPST)

285: No. 9 Derek White vs. Dustin Dennison (UVU)