clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State’s Matthew Wolff wins 2019 Fred Haskins Award

The sophomore is the player of the year.

NCAA Photos via Getty Images

A week after winning the NCAA individual national championship, Oklahoma State sophomore Matthew Wolff claimed another trophy Tuesday.

Wolff won the Fred Haskins Award, signifying his status as the best collegiate golfer in the country.

Well, tied for first. His teammate VIktor Hovland won the Ben Hogan Award two weeks ago, which is given to the best amateur golfer in the country. They’re basically the same. However, the Haskins Award only takes into account collegiate play while the Hogan Award factors in other amateur events.

The sophomore from Agoura Hills, California set a program record with five regular season wins this year and won the individual championship. He finished the season averaging 68.69 strokers per round.

Wolff is the first Cowboy to win the award since Pablo Martin in 2006. He joins Martin, Lindy Miller (1978), Bob Tway (1981), Willie Wood (1982), Scott Verplank (1986), Charles Howell (2000), Hunter Mahan (2003) as the eight winners from OSU.

Wolff beat out Hovland and senior Steven Fisk from Southern Georgia for the trophy.