clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Baseball Postseason Awards Announced

The Big 12 Conference released its postseason baseball awards ahead of the start of the Big 12 Tournament in Arlington, TX on Wednesday.

Syndication: The Oklahoman BRYAN TERRY/THE OKLAHOMAN via Imagn Content Services, LLC

The Big 12 Conference Tournament will get underway in a new location from Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas, on Wednesday morning. The conference released its All- Big 12 Awards and Teams on Tuesday morning, and Oklahoma State was well represented.

Five Cowboys made first-team All-Big 12. Jake Thompson, Griffin Doersching, Justin Campbell, Roman Phalsalker, and Nolan McLean (utility) were all recognized for a great season by landing on the first team. McLean also represented Oklahoma State on the second team as a pitcher and on the honorable mention team as an infielder. Marcus Brown, Trevor Martin, Bryce Osmond, David Mendham and Hueston Morrill were also recognized on the honorable mention team. Zach Ehrhard and Roc Riggio both made the All-Freshman squad.

Oklahoma State capped off its season with a series win over Baylor, taking two out of three games from the Bears in Waco last weekend. The Cowboys dropped four of their last six games after getting swept by Texas Tech in Stillwater the previous weekend. As a result, No. 4 OSU will take on No. 5 Texas in the first game of the Big 12 Tournament on Wednesday morning at 9:00 on ESPNU. That means the Cowboys will have to face the Big 12 Player of the Year, Longhorn first baseman Ivan Melendez, in the first game of the tournament.

If Oklahoma State beats Texas on Wednesday morning, the Cowboys will face the winner of No. 1 TCU and No. 8 Baylor on Thursday afternoon at 4:00 on ESPNU. If OSU loses to Texas, it would face the loser of the TCU-Baylor game on Thursday morning at 9:00 on ESPN+. The full bracket for the Big 12 Tournament is posted below.