clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State baseball to host NCAA regional in Oklahoma City due to flooding

Connecticut, Harvard and Nebraska will be in the regional.

NCAA Baseball: College World Series-Arizona vs Oklahoma State Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

The Oklahoma State baseball team received the No. 9 overall seed by the NCAA selection committee for the national tournament Monday and will host a regional for the first time since 2015.

The Cowboys (32-17), who won the Big 12 championship Sunday, were originally slated to host the regional in Stillwater but it was moved to Chickasaw Bricktown Ballpark in Oklahoma City due to flooding at Allie P. Reynolds Stadium. Connecticut (36-23), Harvard (27-14) and Nebraska (31-22) will join OSU in the regional, which starts Friday and runs through Monday, June 3.

The top 16 overall seeds will each host a four-team, double elimination regional with teams seeded Nos. 1-4. The Oklahoma City Regional seeds are as follows: No. 1 OSU, No. 2 UConn, No. 3 Nebraska and No. 4 Harvard.

National top 16 seeds

  1. UCLA (47-8)
  2. Vanderbilt (49-10)
  3. Georgia Tech (41-17)
  4. Georgia (44-15)
  5. Arkansas (41-17)
  6. Mississippi State (46-13)
  7. Louisville (43-15)
  8. Texas Tech (39-17)
  9. Oklahoma State (36-18)
  10. East Carolina (43-15)
  11. Stanford (41-11)
  12. Ole Miss (37-25)
  13. LSU (37-24)
  14. North Carolina (42-17)
  15. West Virginia (37-20)
  16. Oregon State (36-18-1)

Big 12 rival Texas Tech were placed at No. 8 overall, and if both the Cowboys and Red Raiders win their respective regionals the two will meet in a Super Regional in Lubbock, Texas.

Oklahoma City Regional Friday schedule

  • Game 1: Nebraska vs. UConn, noon
  • Game 2: OSU vs. Harvard, 6 p.m.