clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014-2015 Oklahoma State Men's Basketball Non-Conference Schedule

New, comments

With an inexperienced unit and a coach who has under achieved, the Cowboys will face a tough non-conference schedule.

Denny Medley-USA TODAY Sports

The loss of Marcus Smart and Markel Brown will make it tough for Travis Ford's young Cowboys team to win games, but when the 2014-2015 non-conference schedule was released it only got tougher.

This year's non-conference schedule features the likes of Auburn, Missouri, South Carolina, Memphis, and Oregon State. Although the Cowboys are not guaranteed a match up against the Auburn Tigers, as that potential meeting would be at the MGM Grand Main Event in Las Vegas, a win against a Bruce Pearl coached team would be huge for the inexperienced Oklahoma State team.

The Cowboys will also host the Maryland Terps at home, a game that coach Travis Ford is looking forward to.

"This schedule is going to be, from top to bottom, one of the toughest we’ve played since I’ve been here. It will be an extremely challenging schedule, with some very tough road games. We have to play three major-conference teams on the road … going to South Carolina, to Memphis, and against Missouri in Kansas City. We also have a couple of games in Las Vegas against Oregon State and either Auburn or Tulsa, three teams from high-major leagues. We’re also excited about our home schedule, highlighted by bringing a traditional basketball team like Maryland into Gallagher-Iba Arena, which will be a great home game for our fans. Milwaukee, North Texas and Middle Tennessee State are all very good teams. All in all, it will be a very challenging schedule."

Travis Ford has a history of underachieving, and with this year's non-conference schedule, things are not looking up for Ford. If the Cowboys are able to have success in the upcoming season, it could lead the way to bright things in the Cowboy's future.

2014-15 Oklahoma State Men’s Basketball Schedule

Sat., Nov. 8   Missouri Western (exh.)     2 pm

Fri., Nov. 14  Southeastern Louisiana      7 pm

Sun., Nov. 16  Prairie View A&M            2 pm

Tue., Nov. 18  Northwestern Okla State     7 pm

Fri., Nov. 21  UW Milwaukee #              7 pm

Mon., Nov. 24  vs Oregon State #        7:30 pm  ESPN3.com

Wed., Nov. 26  vs Auburn/Tulsa #     8/10:30 pm  ESPN2/3.com

Wed., Dec. 3   North Texas                 7 pm

Sat., Dec. 6   at South Carolina ^        11 am  ESPNU

Sat., Dec. 13  at Memphis                  5 pm  ESPN2

Tue., Dec. 16  Middle Tennessee State      7 pm

Sun., Dec. 21  Maryland                    1 pm  ESPNU

Tue., Dec. 30  vs Missouri +               8 pm  ESPN2

Sat., Jan. 3   Kansas State *        11 am/1 pm  ESPNU

Tue., Jan. 6   at Iowa State *              TBD  ESPN2

Sat., Jan. 10  Texas *                     4 pm  ESPNU

Tue., Jan. 13  at Kansas *                  TBD  ESPN2

Sat., Jan. 17  at Oklahoma *                TBD  ESPN/ESPN2

Wed., Jan. 21  Texas Tech *                8 pm  ESPNU

Sat., Jan. 24  at Kansas State *          11 am  ESPN/ESPN2

Tue., Jan. 27  Baylor *                     TBD  ESPNews

Sat., Jan. 31  Oklahoma *                  7 pm  ESPN2

Wed., Feb. 4   at Texas *                   TBD  LHN

Sat., Feb. 7   Kansas *                    1 pm  ESPN/ESPN2

Mon., Feb. 9   at Baylor *                  TBD  ESPNU

Sat., Feb. 14  at TCU *                    5 pm  ESPNU

Wed., Feb. 18  Iowa State *                8 pm  ESPNU

Sat., Feb. 21  West Virginia *              TBD  ESPNews

Sat., Feb. 28  at Texas Tech *              TBD  ESPNews

Wed., Mar. 4   TCU *                       8 pm  ESPNU

Sat., Mar. 7   at West Virginia *           TBD  ESPNews

# MGM Grand Main Event (Nov. 24-26 in Las Vegas, Nev.)

^ SEC/Big 12 Challenge

+ Kansas City, Mo.

* Big 12 Conference game