clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State alumni team, Stillwater Stars, to play in 2020 The Basketball Tournament

A group of former Cowboys will compete in a winner-take-all tournament for $1 million.

Oregon v Oklahoma St

While the start of the NBA might still be more than a month away, we will have professional basketball back on our screens even sooner! Not only that, it will include a number of Oklahoma State alums.

The Basketball Tournament (also known as TBT) announced the 24 teams included in its 2020 bracket Tuesday during a live bracket announcement. The group includes a team made up of former OSU players.

The OSU squad, known as the Stillwater Stars, includes Markel Brown, Lindy Waters, Thomas Dziagwa, Darrell Williams, Phil Forte, Le’Bryan Nash, Jeffrey Carroll, Brian Williams, Marshall Moses and Michael Cobbins.

The Stars should be able to put up some points as it includes six 1,000-point scorers and more than 1,000 made 3-point shots.

The team will be coached by former Cowboy Bryndon Manzer while OSU alumnus and former men’s basketball manager Jeff Barr will serve as the team’s general manager.

The Stillwater Stars in their debut season earned the No. 21 seed and a first-round match-up with Brotherly Love. The winner of that match-up will face Eberlien Drive, a six-time TBT participant who finished as the 2018 runner-up.

The single elimination-style, winner-take-all tournament includes a $1 million prize to the victorious team.

This is the seventh season for The Basketball Tournament. TBT 2020 will be July 4-14 in Columbus, Ohio, with games broadcast live on ESPN.