clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State’s Chuba Hubbard not named 2019 Heisman Trophy finalist

The running back is the fifth Cowboy to place in the top 10 of Heisman voting since 1975.

NCAA Football: Texas Christian at Oklahoma State Brett Rojo-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard did not receive an invitation to the 2019 Heisman Trophy ceremony despite leading the country in rushing.

LSU quarterback Joe Burrow, Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and defensive end Chase Young were named finalists for the award, which goes to the most outstanding player in college football. The award will be presented at 7 p.m. Saturday at the Downtown Athletic Club on ESPN.

Hubbard is the fifth Cowboy to place in the top 10 of Heisman voting since 1975, and the first since wide receiver Justin Blackmon finished fifth in 2010. Running back Barry Sanders is the only OSU player to win the Heisman back in 1988.

Hubbard, who was named the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award as the country’s best running back and Walter Camp Award as the nation’s best player.

He had 1,936 rushing yards and 21 touchdowns in 12 regular-season games. His rushing yards total is 27 yards more than Wisconsin’s Jonathon Taylor, who played in one more game.

Hubbard is tied with Taylor for second nationally in rushing touchdowns and leads the nation in rushing yards-per-game with 161.3, nearly 15 yards-per-game more than Taylor. Hubbard is also No. 16 in the nation in rush yards-per-carry, which ranks behind Taylor (No. 13) and Ohio State’s J.K. Dobbins (No. 10).