clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oklahoma State wrestling: Former Cowboys to compete at Bill Farrell Memorial

Alex Dieringer moves up to 86 kilograms, but is still considered the favorite.

2016 NCAA Wrestling Championships

Oklahoma State wrestling will have several alums competing for a spot at the 2020 Olympic Trials this weekend at the Bill Farrell Memorial International at the New York Athletic Club in Manhattan.

The highest placing wrestler at each weight who has not yet qualified for the trials will earn a spot at the trials next April at Penn State University. Greco-Roman and women’s freestyle will be Friday, followed by men’s freestyle Saturday with all the action being broadcasted on

OSU’s biggest names competing are Alex Dieringer and Jordan Oliver, who are the projected favorites in their respective weight classes. Dieringer lost a best-of-three special wrestle-off to Kyle Dake in August for a spot on the United States’ World team. Dake then repeated as World champion at 79 kilograms (a non-Olympic weight) in men’s freestyle.

Dieringer, who won last year’s Bill Farrell at 79 kg. and was named the tournament’s most outstanding wrestler, has moved up to 86 kg. this year. Myles Martin (Ohio State) and Sammy Brooks (Iowa) pose the biggest threat to Dieringer. Oliver, who took second at the U.S. Open earlier this year, will be at 65 kg. in a weight class with 2016 Olympian Frank Molinaro (Penn State) and another former Cowboy wrestler in Dean Heil. Molinaro and Heil train together at Oklahoma RTC. Oliver is on staff as a volunteer assistant at North Carolina for OSU alum and 2012 Olympic bronze medalist Coleman Scott.

Eddie Klimara and Austin Miller (57 kg) and Derek White (125 kg) will also wrestle freestyle, while Chandler Rogers (87 kg) is the lone Cowboy in Greco-Roman.


57kg: Eddie Klimara, Austin Miller

65kg: Dean Heil, Jordan Oliver

86kg: Alex Dieringer

125kg: Derek White


87kg: Chandler Rogers

Bill Memorial schedule


Greco: Session 1 (8:30 a.m.), medal matches (5 p.m.)


Men’s freestyle: Session 1 (8:30 a.m.), medal matches (5 p.m.)

*All times Central