clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State’s Leslie O’Neal makes 2020 College Football Hall of Fame ballot

O’Neal is the school leader in career sacks, career tackles for loss and single-season sacks.

New York Jets v San Diego Chargers Photo by George Rose/Getty Images

Oklahoma State’s all-time sacks leader is among 76 FBS players up for the College Football Hall of Fame.

Two-time All-American Leslie O’Neal, whose 34 career sacks and 47 career tackles for loss are also OSU records, will find out if he’s part of the 2020 class before the College Football Playoff National Championship on Jan. 13 in New Orleans. Broadcasting information for the January announcement will be announced at a later date.

O’Neal recorded an OSU single-season record 16 sacks and was named the 1984 Big Eight Defensive Player of the Year. He also helped the Cowboys make three straight bowl game appearances.

O’Neal was the eighth overall pick in the 1986 NFL draft by the San Diego Chargers. He was named the 1986 Defensive Rookie of the Year and made six Pro Bowls in his career.

If O’Neal is inducted, he’ll join former Cowboy running backs Bob Fenimore (1972), Barry Sanders (2004) and Thurman Thomas (2008) in the Hall in Atlanta.