clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State wrestling: 3 commits to compete at FloWrestling’s ‘Who’s Number One’ showcase

Jakason Burks, Trevor Mastrogiovanni and Dustin Plott will be in action.

NCAA Basketball: Texas Christian at Oklahoma State Rob Ferguson-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma State will have three 2020 commits compete Oct. 5 at the seventh annual FloWrestling’s “Who’s Number One” competition with Jakason Burks, Trevor Mastrogiovanni and Dustin Plott, FloWrestling announced Saturday.

After six years at Lehigh’s Grace Hall — nicknamed the “The Snake Pit” — FloWrestling has moved the event to Iowa’s Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The event will begin at 5 p.m.

“I talked to (Iowa wrestling coach) Tom Brands about it — just, you know, Who’s Number One in Iowa,” Willie Saylor, a writer, editor and ranker at Flowrestling who organized this event, said in the announcement. “He’s like, ‘Well, why wouldn’t you have it here?’ Good question, coach.

“He’s like, ‘You should have it at Carver. It’ll be great, with a great atmosphere.’ That’s all I really needed to hear.”

“Who’s Number One” is a dual-style competition with the country’s best high school wrestlers. The winners at each weight will earn FloWrestling’s No. 1 ranking to begin the 2019-20 season.

To purchase tickets to the event, go here.


Burks, a two-time Nebraska state champion, will meet Jesse Ybarra (Iowa commit) at 120 pounds in folkstyle. Burks made the Cadet World team member in Greco Roman and Fargo national champion last year. In July, he took second in freestyle and third in Greco at Fargo.

Ybarra, a two-time Arizona state champ and 2019 Fargo champ, defeated Burks 4-1 in the Akron semifinals in June.

Burks dropped a 6-4 decision to Greg Diakomihalis at last year’s WNO. Ybarra has a previous WNO win over Dom Serrano.

Trevor Mastrogiovanni

Trevor Mastrogiovanni will face Robbie Howard (Penn State) in a matchup between two grapplers from New Jersey powerhouses at 126 in freestyle. Mastrogiovanni, a senior at Blair Academy, is a three-time national prep champ and the top prep placer at the Junior Open. Howard plans to move up from 120 to 126 next season at Bergen Catholic.

Howard topped Mastrogiovanni 5-1 at Akron 2018.

Mastrogiovanni’s younger brother, Travis, who is ranked No. 2 and is uncommitted will face No. 1 Sonny Santiago (Arizona State) at 152 pounds.


Plott, a two-time Fargo finalist and two-time Oklahoma state champ from Tuttle, will wrestle Rocky Elam (Missouri) at 182. Plott is the No. 2 prospect in 2020 and No. 5 in the pound-for-pound rankings. Elam, a 2018 Cadet Fargo champ and took third at 92 kilograms in Akron, is No. 13 on FloWrestling’s big board.

Who’s Number One lineup

132: No. 1 Jeese Mendez (IN) vs. No. 4 Ryan Jack (CT/NCST) - free

132: No. 3 Shayne Van Ness (NJ) vs. No. 2 Dom Serrano (CO/Nebraska) - free

120: No. 2 Jakason Burks (NEB/OSU) vs. No. 1 Jesse Ybarra (AZ/Iowa) - folk

113: No. 1 Richard Figueroa II (CA/ASU) vs. No. 2 Stevo Poulin (NY) - folk

145: No. 1 Victor Voinovich (OH) vs. No. 2 Jeese Vasquez (CA) - folk

65kg: Joshua Saunders (MO/Cornell) vs. Anthony Echemendia (AZ) - greco

152: No. 1 Sonny Santiago (CA/ASU) vs. No. 2 Travis Mastrogiovanni (NJ) - folk

160: No. 1 Paddy Gallagher (OH) vs. No. 2 Keegan Daniel O’Toole (WI/Mizzou) - free

182: No. 1 Dustin Plott (OK/OSU) vs. No. 2 Rocky Elam (MO/Mizzou) - folk

126: No. 2 Trevor Mastrogiovanni (NJ/OSU) vs. No. 1 Robbie Howard (NJ/PSU) - free

138: No. 1 Beau Bartlett (PA/PSU) vs. No. 2 Ryan Sokol (MN/Iowa) - folk

170: No. 1 Alex Facundo (MI) vs. No. 2 Patrick Kennedy (MN/Iowa) - folk

132: Mendez/Jack winner vs. Serrano/Van Ness winner - style TBD by highest ranked grappler

*(State/college commitment)