clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State’s Adrianna Franch, USWNT win 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup

The former Cowgirl star was one of three goalkeepers on the squad.

Winner’s Portraits: Final - 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Photo by Naomi Baker - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

Adrianna Franch became the first Oklahoma State product to win the World Cup after the United States women’s national team defeated the Netherlands 2-0 on Sunday in Lyon, France.

It’s the USWNT’s second-straight World Cup title and record-setting fourth overall.

Franch, who starred for the Cowgirls from 2009-12, was one of three goalkeepers for the USWNT but did not play as Alyssa Naeher held the net for all seven matches. Franch earned her first career cap in a 2-2 draw against England at the SheBelieves Cup in March and was named to her first World Cup roster in May.

During her time at OSU, the Cowgirls won the Big 12 tournament in 2010 and 2011, and Franch earned All-American honors twice. She also set the school record for shutouts at 38, which is the sixth-most in NCAA history.

The Salina, Kansas native has thrived in the National Women’s Soccer League with the Portland Thorns, being named the league’s Goalkeeper of the Year each of the past two seasons and winning the league title in 2017. Franch’s club teammates Emily Sonnett, Lindsey Horan and Tobin Heath were also on the USWNT roster.

To follow Franch’s pro career with the Thorns, visit SB Nation’s Portland soccer website Stumptown Footy.

USWNT’s 2019 World Cup-winning roster

Goalkeepers: Adrianna Franch, Ashlyn Harris, Alyssa Naeher

Defenders: Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn, Ali Krieger, Kelley O’Hara, Becky Sauerbrunn, Emily Sonnett

Midfielders: Morgan Brian, Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan, Rose Lavelle, Allie Long, Samantha Mewis

Forwards: Tobin Heath, Carli Lloyd, Jessica McDonald, Alex Morgan, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, Megan Rapinoe