clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No. 2 Oklahoma State caps perfect season with 27-12 win over No. 3 Iowa

It’s the Cowboys’ first undefeated season since 2005.

Chandler Rogers stepped up on the big stage with the dual agains Iowa tied 12-12 on Sunday. The hometown kid from Stillwater grew up going to the rivalry Oklahoma State-Iowa dual at Gallagher-Iba Arena.

And Sunday he made his own stamp on the rivalry by wrestling up a weight at 174 pounds and scored a fall at 5:30 over Mitch Bowman. It was the first of four OSU victories by redshirt seniors in the No. 2 Cowboys’ 27-12 win over No. 3 Iowa to cap the first undefeated season since 2005 and 46th in program history in front of a 13,811 sellout crowd.

No. 11 Jacobe Smith, No. 6 Preston Weigel and No. 2 Derek White followed with three straight decisions.

Nick Piccininni, ranked No. 4 at 125, started off the dual with a fall at 4:55 over defending NCAA champion Spencer Lee. Piccinini escaped in the second period then locked up a cradle for at the north end of the mat for his first win over No. 2 Lee. It was the first time Lee has been pinned since 2009, according to PA Power Wrestling.

No. 2 Daton Fix and No. 3 Austin DeSanto lived up to the hype at 133. Fix slipped away for an escape after 21 seconds in the second then took DeSanto to his hip, but no takedown was called as time expired. After a review, the call stood. Fix rode out the third period for a 2-0 decision to extend the Cowboys lead to 6-0.

No. 14 Kaid Brock scored a takedown in the opening minute, but Max Murin escaped to cut the deficit to 2-1. Murin came out from bottom about 20 seconds into the second, but Brock scored another takedown with 30 seconds left before Murin wiggle away again. Brock answered with escape in the opening 10 seconds of the third then takes Murin down, but is called for a potentially dangerous violation. Murin escaped and took down Brock, but the Cowboy avoided a last-second tilt and held on for a 8-6 decision with riding time to make it 12-0 OSU.

No. 6 Kaden Gfeller gave up two takedowns to No. 12 Pat Lugo in a 7-4 loss at 149. Wyatt Sheets allowed a takedown in each period in a 9-5 setback to No. 7 Kaleb Young at 157 for the Hawkeyes to cut OSU’s lead to 12-6. Iowa’s No. 2 Alex Marinelli tied the dual 12-12 with a fall at 2:44 over Jonce Blaylock, who lost his fifth straight match in his first start since Jan. 13 at Rutgers.

OSU head coach opted to sit his son, No. 7 Joe Smith at 174, in favor of Rogers. Smith is cutting down weight to 165 in advance of the postseason.

Rogers capitalized on the opportunity with two first-period takedowns then a big throw in the third for the fall to give the Cowboys the lead for good. Rogers, ever the showman, then pumped up the GIA crowd.

Jacobe Smith escaped and scored a takedown 30 seconds into the second then No. 14 Cash Wilcke escaped with 1:18 to go to make it 3-1 heading into the third. Wilcke escaped to start the final frame, but Smith pounced on a takedown before Wilcke slipped away again. Smith received a penalty point for a hands-to-the-face call on Wilcke for a 6-3 win.

At 197, Weigel showed his veteran prowess against No. 4 Jacob Warner. Weigel scored a takedown about a minute in and controlled Warner until there were 40 seconds left in the first. Warner opted to start underneath against Weigel, who is known for his riding ability. Weigel conceded a point on a locked-hands call and stalling violation for Warner to take a 3-2 lead. Weigel hit a mat return in the final seconds, but was unable to turn Warner to his back. Weigel scored a reversal a minute in and took a 5-3 decision with riding time to clinch the dual victory.

White capped the dual with a 3-1 decision over No. 7 Sam Stoll. White scored a takedown with 10 seconds left in the first period and escaped with less than 40 seconds left in the second for the win.

Up next

The Cowboys have the week off before participating in the Big 12 Championships at BOK Center in Tulsa.

No. 2 Oklahoma State 27, No. 3 Iowa 12

125: No. 4 Nick Piccininni (OSU) fall No. 2 Spencer Lee (Iowa), 4:55
133: No. 2 Daton Fix (OSU) dec. No. 3 Austin DeSanto (Iowa), 2-0
141: No. 14 Kaid Brock (OSU) dec. Max Murin (Iowa), 8-6
149: No. 11 Pat Lugo (Iowa) dec. No. 6 Kaden Gfeller (OSU), 7-4
157: No. 7 Kaleb Young (Iowa) dec. Wyatt Sheets (OSU), 9-5
165: No. 2 Alex Marinelli (Iowa) fall Jonce Blaylock (OSU), 2:44
174: Chandler Rogers (OSU) fall Mitch Bowman (Iowa), 5:30
184: No. 11 Jacobe Smith (OSU) dec. No. 14 Cash Wilcke (Iowa), 6-3
197: No. 6 Preston Weigel (OSU) dec. No. 4 Jacob Warner (Iowa), 5-3
285: No. 2 Derek White (OSU) dec. No. 7 Sam Stoll (Iowa), 3-1