clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State wrestling: Cowboys secure 7th straight Big 12 Championship

OSU holds a 30-point edge over Iowa State heading into the final session.

NCAA Basketball: Arkansas-Pine Bluff at Oklahoma State Rob Ferguson-USA TODAY Sports

The Oklahoma State wrestling team has locked up its seventh straight Big 12 Championship after three sessions with 143.5 points and a 30-point lead over Iowa State at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

OSU’s run of seven-straight conference tournament titles marks the longest streak in Big 12 wrestling history, and the program’s longest stretch of consecutive conference tournament titles since claiming eight straight from 1921-1928.

The Cyclones will finish as runner-ups as they have a 33.5-point edge over Northern Iowa at 80. Oklahoma is fourth with 74 and Fresno State has 59.5 points for fifth.

OSU went 5-1 during the consolation round Sunday afternoon, with three major decisions: one by Joe Smith at 165 pounds and two by Dakota Geer at 184 pounds to secure the team crown.

OSU’s seven finalists this year include Nick Piccininni (29-0) at 125 pounds, Daton Fix (29-1) at 133, Kaid Brock (19-6) at 141, Kaden Gfeller (25-5) at 149, Jacobe Smith (25-3) at 174, Preston Weigel (10-0) at 197 and Derek White (27-1) at heavyweight.

All seven finalists along with Joe Smith at 165 and Geer have earned automatic qualifying bids to the NCAA tournament, which begins March 21 at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh. The Big 12 Championship finals begin at 7 p.m. Sunday on Fox Sports regional networks.

Big 12 finals

125: Nick Piccininni (OSU) vs. Brent Fleetwood (North Dakota State)

133: Daton Fix (OSU) vs. Montorie Bridges (Wyoming)

141: Kaid Brock (OSU) vs. Dominick Demas (Oklahoma)

149: Kaden Gfeller (OSU) vs. Jarrett Degen (Iowa State)

157: Justin Thomas (Oklahoma) vs. Chase Straw (Iowa State)

165: Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State) vs. Demetrirus Romero (Utah Valley)

174: Jacobe Smith (OSU) vs. Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa)

184: Sam Colbray (Iowa State) vs. Drew Foster (Northern Iowa)

197: Preston Weigel (OSU) vs. Willie Miklus (Iowa State)

285: Derek White (OSU) vs. AJ Nevills (Fresno State)