clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma State wrestling: Cowboys to host Bedlam dual against Oklahoma on Feb. 7

OSU has won 11 straight duals in the Bedlam series.

Oklahoma State heavyweight Austin Harris, top, scores a takedown with six seconds remaining for a 13-5 major decision against Oklahoma’s Collin McCoy on Sunday, Feb. 16, 2020, at Gallagher-Iba Arena in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Oklahoma State will wrestle Oklahoma in the annual Bedlam dual Sunday, Feb. 7, 2021, at Gallagher-Iba Arena, according to OU’s website.

It’s the first known dual date for the Cowboys’ 2021 season. OSU swept the Bedlam duals (23-9, 27-8) this past season to earn its 10th and 11th straight victories against the Sooners.

OU’s schedule shows the Big 12 will use a six-plus one model with six conference duals and one non-conference dual (at Stanford of Pac-12). The Big 12 Championship will be March 6-7 at the BOK Center in Tulsa and the NCAA Championship from March 16 to 21 at the Enterprise Center in St. Louis.

In April, Iowa State wrestling coach Kevin Dresser announced on Twitter that OSU will visit Ames for a second straight year. That might now be changed to ISU visiting Stillwater because the Cyclones and UNI are set to visit OU on Jan. 22 and 24, respectively. The Iowa and Oklahoma schools are travel partners with each other to help minimize multiple trips to the same region. OSU could host UNI on Jan. 22 and ISU on Jan. 24.

The Cowboys will likely host rival Iowa on Feb. 21 for its non-conference dual. This date would give both teams two weeks to prepare for their respective conference tournament.

OSU also usually wrestle Jan. 1 and 2 at the Southern Scuffle in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

The Cowboys are required to have a dual against the three other Big 12 legacy members — ISU, OU and West Virginia — at least once per season. As a legacy member, OSU must also visit at least one Big 12 affiliate.

2020-24 Big 12 Wrestling Travel Partners

Oklahoma and Oklahoma State
Iowa State and Northern Iowa
Air Force, Northern Colorado, and Wyoming
North Dakota State and South Dakota State