clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2020 NCAA Wrestling Championships: Oklahoma State receives 4 top-10 seeds

Nick Piccininni, Boo Lewallen, Travis Wittlake and Anthony Montalvo land top-10 seeds.

2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Wrestling Championship Photo by Justin K. Aller/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

Oklahoma State received four top-10 seeds from the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee on Wednesday for the NCAA Wrestling Championships, which is set for March 19-21 at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis.

No. 3 Nick Piccininni (26-2) at 125 pounds, No. 4 Travis Wittlake (27-2) at 165, No. 5 Boo Lewallen (21-2) at 149 and No. 9 Anthony Montalvo (25-6) at 184 all landed top-10 seeds.

Piccininni, a two-time All-American (fourth in 2017, fifth in 2019) will meet No. 30 Logan Griffin of Michigan State in the opening round. Piccininni’s two losses this season came to the top two seeds in No. 1 Spencer Lee, a two-time reigning NCAA champion, and No. 2 Pat Glory of Princeton. Piccininni could meet Glory in the semifinals.

Wittlake and Montalvo are both redshirt freshman making their first NCAA tournament appearance. Wittlake draws No. 29 Bernie Truax of Cal Poly in the top side of his bracket with a potential semifinal bout against No. 1 Alex Marinelli of Iowa in the semifinals. Wittlake dropped a tight 3-2 decision to Marinelli in the dual. Montalvo will have No. 24 Johnny Sebastian of Wisconsin in the first round with a possible quarterfinal match against No. 1 Taylor Lujan of Northern Iowa. Montalvo lost the dual match against Lujan, 4-0.

Lewallen, a 2018 NCAA All-American that had his 2019 season cut short due to a shoulder injury, will face No. 28 Jimmy Hoffman of Lehigh in the first round. Lewallen had aa 4-0 win against Hoffman during the season. Lewallen is on the top half of the bracket with No. 1 Pat Lugo of Iowa, who pinned the Cowboy in the first period in the dual.

Returning All-Americans

Joe Smith and Dakota Geer are both returning All-Americans that received seeds in the teens.

Smith, a two-time All-American (seventh in 2016, fourth in 2017) at 157, landed the No. 12 seed at 174 and will face No. 21 Andrew McNally of Kent State in the opening round. Smith would face No. 5 Bryce Steiert of Northern Iowa in the second round.

Geer, a 2019 NCAA All-American as the No. 26 seed at 184, has the No. 14 seed with a first round match against No. 19 Drew Phipps of Bucknell in the first round at 197. Geer would likely face No. 3 Eric Schultz of Nebraska in the second round.

First NCAA tournament appearance

There will be five Cowboys making their NCAA tournament debuts as No. 11 Wyatt Sheets (20-7), No. 14 Dusty Hone (21-9) and No. 22 Reece Witcraft join Montalvo and Wittlake as first timers.

  • 133: No. 22 Reece Witcraft (18-10) vs. No. 11 Cameron Sykora (17-4) of North Dakota State
  • 141: No. 14 Dusty Hone (21-9) vs. No. 19 Dylan Duncan (19-10) of Illinois
  • 157: No. 11 Wyatt Sheets (20-7) vs. No. 22 Zac Carson (22-11) of Ohio

Oklahoma State seeding at NCAA Championships

125: No. 3 Nick Piccininni (26-2)

133: No. 22 Reece Witcraft (18-10)

141: No. 14 Dusty Hone (21-9)

149: No. 5 Boo Lewallen (21-2)

157: No. 11 Wyatt Sheets (20-7)

165: No. 4 Travis Wittlake (27-2)

174: No. 12 Joe Smith (12-6)

184: No. 9 Anthony Montalvo (25-6)

197: No. 14 Dakota Geer (24-8)